Telangana Elections: BJP to release first candidates’ list on October 15 | Latest Election Updates 2023

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in Telangana is ready with its first list of candidates for the upcoming assembly elections, with the party planning to announce 30-40 names by October 15. Deccan Chronicle (DC) has reported. In its recent bid to gain ground in Telangana, the BJP has organized public rallies of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Union Home Minister Amit Shah in the state. Days after these rallies, the party finalized its first list of candidates. Citing sources, the DC report said that most senior BJP leaders and public representatives are likely to be included in the party’s first list.

The party has chosen the candidates based on their likelihood of securing victory in the respective constituencies. The BJP manifesto committee members met at the BJP office in Nampally to discuss several issues in the state. The DC report said the issues raised by Bandi MP Sanjay Kumar during his padayatra are likely to be included in the party’s manifesto.

Using all the arrows in its quiver, the BJP is doing its best to improve its prospects in the state. The party plans to field national leaders like Uttar Pradesh CM Yogi Adityanath, Maharashtra Deputy CM Devendra Fadnavis and Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma to cash in on the popularity of these leaders.

On October 9, the Election Commission of India (ECI) announced the election schedule for the five poll-bound states. According to ECI, Telangana has a total of 506,000 disabled people, 444,000 voters are above 80 years of age, while the number of people above 100 years (centenarians) is 7,005.

Telangana’s electoral gender ratio is 998, according to the Commission. Since the creation of the state in June 2014, the K Chandrashekhar-led Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS) has ruled Telangana state. The state has a total of 119 parliamentary seats.

First published: October 12, 2023 | 2:47 p.m IST