Now how to find Deviljho in volatile habitats in Monster Hunter

Find Deviljho in Monster hunter now works differently than any other monster in the game.

In the main series, Deviljho (nicknamed ‘pickle’ or ‘Picklejho’ by the community due to its green, round appearance) is an extremely aggressive predator that can invade any ecosystem in search of a meal.

After the March 2024 The Vernal Invader update, Monster hunter now can surprise players with a Deviljho encounter under specific circumstances. It cannot be found on the map by conventional means and requires you to explore ephemeral habitats.

This guide explains how to find Deviljho Monster hunter nowand the list of monsters it can invade.

How to find volatile habitats in Monster Hunter Now

To begin your hunt against Deviljho, you need to explore a habitat that is ‘ephemeral’which has a chance that certain monsters can become Deviljho encounters.

Before we start, you should know that Volatile Territoria and Deviljho are only available to those who have completed the pre-season storyline, which starts with the prologue and ends with Chapter 13: Sunderer of the Skies.

As you may know, the game world can be one of three habitats – forest, swamp or desert – each with their own respective monster spawns and resources. Each of these habitats can also be ‘ephemeral’, as indicated by the ground pulsates with a blue ‘cracked’ effectas well as the ‘Volatile’ label in the top left corner of the screen.

An example of a volatile habitat, where the desert area shows a ‘cracked’ effect.
Image: Niantic/Capcom via Polygon

When exploring a volatile habitat, there is a chance that certain large monsters can be ‘invaded’ by Deviljho, but only if you investigate them. In other words, these monsters initially look like a regular encounter, and only when you tap them does Deviljho rush in and appear. (The list of monsters that Deviljho can invade is in the next section.)

Two side-by-side screenshots showing warning text and a Deviljho encounter in Monster Hunter Now.

You’ll know when an invasion is happening when a ‘Warning’ image appears as soon as you investigate a large monster.
Image: Niantic/Capcom via Polygon

What monsters can Deviljho invade in Monster Hunter Now?

In Monster hunter now only certain large monsters in volatile habitats can be invaded and become a Deviljho encounter. (It’s similar to how Ditto in Pokémon Go is ‘hidden’ behind certain creatures.) These monsters are:

  • Great Jagras
  • Kulu-Ya-Ku
  • Pukei-Pukei

The above must be at least five-star encounters and can occur in any volatile habitat. While the upper and lower numbers of Deviljho that can appear in a volatile habitat are unknown, players have reported between two and five encounters per hour.

Large Jagras, Kulu-Ya-Ku and Pukei-Pukei from Monster Hunter Now against a white background.

From left to right: Great Jagras, Kulu-Ya-Ku and Pukei-Pukei.
Image: Niantic/Capcom via Polygon

Please note that it is possible that the above list will change over time – perhaps because the big monster list rotates as part of future seasonal updates.

What else do you need to know about Deviljho invasions in Monster Hunter Now?

An infographic for Deviljho in Monster Hunter Now.

Deviljho’s element and weakness in Monster Hunter Now.
Image: Niantic/Capcom

In addition to the essentials above, here’s what else we know about how Deviljho invasions work:

  • According to users on the Monster hunter now subreddita habitat can be fleeting all day, but that will only be the case show as fleeting as Deviljho can actually appear. To complicate matters further, an area may also initially appear non-volatile if the entire habitat is not fully ‘charged’, but can then ‘activate’ as you move further into it. There is an advantage to this: if you know that the habitat was previously volatile that day, you can quickly see whether Deviljho is available or not (at least, until the big monster refresh, which happens every hour on the hour outside of special events). Also know that once you find all the Deviljho within an area, the Volatile status will disappear until the next refresh.
  • Deviljho will match the difficulty of the monster it invades, meaning that if you initially encounter a six-star monster, the Deviljho will also have a six-star difficulty.
  • Once Deviljho has invaded, it will appear on the map screen if you decide to leave the encounter. It will then remain there until the next major monster spawn refresh.
  • Your Palico can encounter Deviljho and mark it later with a blue paintball, and can also be manually marked with a pink paintball if you want to hunt it later.
  • Unlike the vast majority of monsters, Deviljho has his own rank six upgrade material, meaning those investing in his armor or weapons will need to specifically look for high-rank Deviljho to continue upgrading them. Good luck!
  • In the main games there are three Deviljho subspecies; Savage, deviant and four heavenly kings. Although there is no indication that this will happen Monster hunter nowthe arrival of subspecies such as Black Diablos, Azure Rathalos and Pink Rathian suggests that this is possible.