Lok Sabha polls 2024 Phase 6: Voter turnout of over 49% till 3 p.m.

A voter shows his inked finger after casting his vote. (Photo:PTI)

Voting is underway for the sixth phase of the 2024 Lok Sabha elections. In this phase, voting will take place in 58 of the 543 Lok Sabha constituencies, including all seven seats in Delhi.

Delhi and seven other states and Union Territories will face intense fighting in the sixth phase, after which only 57 constituencies will remain in the seventh and final phase of polls on June 1.

Lok Sabha Elections Phase 6: Voter turnout in Jharkhand

Jharkhand recorded a voter turnout of 54.34 percent till 3 pm. The state votes for four of the fourteen Lok Sabha constituencies.

Voting began at 7 am for Giridih, Dhanbad, Ranchi and Jamshedpur constituencies, and polling was scheduled till 5 pm.

Giridih recorded the highest voter turnout at 57.11 percent, followed by Jamshedpur (56.14 percent), Ranchi (54.25 percent) and Dhanbad (50.69 percent).

As many as 27 candidates are in the fray from Ranchi, 25 each from Dhanbad and Jamshedpur, and 16 from Giridih. About 82,16,000 voters are eligible to cast their votes in the four constituencies, with Dhanbad having the highest number of voters at 22,85,000 and Giridih having the lowest at 18,64,000.

Lok Sabha Elections Phase 6: Voter turnout in West Bengal

In West Bengal, around 70.19 percent voter turnout was recorded till 3 pm. Voting is currently underway in eight of the 42 Lok Sabha seats in the state.

Lok Sabha Elections Phase 6: Voter Turnout in Uttar Pradesh

Uttar Pradesh recorded a voter turnout of 43.95 percent till 3 pm. The state is currently witnessing voting in 14 of the 80 Lok Sabha constituencies.

According to Election Commission (EC) data, Ambedkar Nagar recorded a voter turnout of 50.01 percent till 3 pm, Basti 47.03 percent, Azamgarh 45.38 percent, Sultanpur 45.31 percent, Lalganj 44.63 percent, Domariaganj 43.96 percent and 43.75 percent. cent in Jaunpur.

The turnout in Machhlishahr was 43.89 percent till 3 p.m., Shrawasti 43.50 percent, Sant Kabir Nagar 43.49 percent, Bhadohi 42.39 percent, Pratapgarh 41.87 percent, Allahabad 41.04 percent and Phulpur 39.46 percent .

Lok Sabha Elections Phase 6: Voter turnout in Bihar

Bihar recorded a voter turnout of 45.21 percent till 3 pm on Saturday. The state is currently voting on eight of the forty Lok Sabha seats in the sixth phase of the 2024 Lok Sabha elections.

Till 3 pm, the highest voter turnout was recorded in Vaishali (48.94 percent), and the lowest in Siwal (39.81 percent).

Lok Sabha Elections Phase 6: Voter turnout in Haryana

A voter turnout of around 46.26 per cent was recorded in 10 Lok Sabha constituencies of Haryana till 3 pm.

EC data showed that Kurukshetra recorded the highest turnout at 50.17 percent till 3 pm, followed by 49.44 percent in Sirsa. Gurugram recorded the lowest voter turnout at 41.33 percent.

Ambala recorded a voter turnout of 48.31 percent, Bhiwani-Mahendragarh 47.25 percent, Faridabad 42.33 percent, Hisar 45.28 percent, Karnal 46.24 percent, Rohtak 49.08 percent and Sonipat 46.14 percent.

Lok Sabha Elections Phase 6: Voter turnout in Delhi

Delhi, where seven of the seven Lok Sabha constituencies went to polls, recorded a voter turnout of 44.58 per cent till 3 pm.

In Delhi, the highest election turnout was recorded at 47.85 percent in the Northeast Delhi constituency, while the New Delhi seat had the lowest voting percentage at 42.17 percent.

Till 3 pm, the voter turnout in East Delhi was 44.70 percent, followed by Chandni Chowk at 43.24 percent, Northwest Delhi at 44.78 percent, South Delhi at 42.96 percent and West Delhi at 44.91 per cent.

Lok Sabha Elections Phase 6

Elections are underway in eight of 40 seats in Bihar, 10 of 10 constituencies in Haryana, four of 14 constituencies in Jharkhand, six of 21 seats in Odisha, 14 of 80 constituencies in Uttar Pradesh, eight of 42 seats in West Bengal, seven of the seven constituencies in Delhi, and one of the five seats in Jammu and Kashmir.

Lok Sabha elections 2024

The general elections to elect 543 members to the 18th Lok Sabha will be held in seven phases from April 19 to June 1. The first phase ended on April 19, phase 2 on April 26, phase 3 on May 7, phase 4 on May. 13, and Phase 5 on May 20. Voting for Phase 7 will take place on June 1. The results will be announced on June 4.

(With input from the agency)

First print: May 25, 2024 | 4:34 PM IST