Copa America final to be held at Miami’s Hard Rock Stadium – with the tournament opening in Atlanta on June 20 and group draw slated for Dec. 7

  • Next summer’s Copa America in the United States is starting to take shape
  • Atlanta will host the first game, while the final will be played in Miami
  • provides all the latest international sports news

The Copa America final will be held on July 14 at the 65,000-seat Hard Rock Stadium in Miami, home of the Miami Dolphins.

The tournament kicks off on June 20 in Atlanta and other locations are still to be announced, but according to reports on Monday, Los Angeles and Las Vegas will host the semifinals. The group draw, meanwhile, will take place on December 7 in Miami.

The tournament is about to start on June 20 at the 71,000-seat Mercedes-Benz Stadium, where Major League Soccer’s Atlanta United has set numerous attendance records. Defending Copa America champions Argentinaled by Lionel Messi, will likely be one of the teams taking part in the opener.

The stadium with a retractable roof near downtown Atlanta, which opened in 2017, will install a grass field over the artificial playing surface for the tournament.

Hard Rock Stadium in Miami Gardens already has a Bermuda grass field and seats approximately 65,000 a $500 million renovation including the installation of a roof over the seating areas. The 36-year-old home of the NFL’s Miami Dolphins will host the finals on July 14.

The Copa America final will be held at the 65,000-seat Hard Rock Stadium

The tournament kicks off on June 20 at Atlanta United's 71,000-seat Mercedes-Benz Stadium

The tournament kicks off on June 20 at Atlanta United’s 71,000-seat Mercedes-Benz Stadium

If Argentina advances to the championship game, Messi would get a chance to play in the same market as his current MLS team. InterMiami.

The Copa América is expanding this season, with six teams from North America joining the usual ten countries from South America competing for the continental championship. It mirrors a special tournament held in the United States in 2016 to mark the event’s centenary – the only time it has previously been held outside South America.

Hosting duties for the Copa América have typically been rotated between the ten COMNEBOL countries in South America. Under the arrangement, Ecuador was supposed to host in 2024, but the country withdrew due to security concerns.

All ten South American national teams participate in the quadrennial tournament, and since 1993, two guest teams have been invited to most tournaments.

For the 2024 edition, CONMEBOL regulars will be joined by six CONCACAF qualifiers, consisting of the four Nations League quarter-final winners and two play-in teams of the quarter-final losers.